Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search Open Directory Close Directory

B.S., Animal Science, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, 2016
M.S. in Animals and Public Policy, Tufts University, 2017

What were you doing before entering the MAPP program?
I just graduated from my undergraduate program and have been working at a pet store (Pet Supplies Plus) on and off for five years. I enjoy hands-on work with animals and interacting with people, so in my spare time I do volunteer work for animal shelters and equine therapy.

What aspects of MAPP led to your decision to join the program?
During my undergraduate program, I took several animal welfare related courses. Human animal interactions and animal cruelty investigations were some of the most interesting subjects to me. The professor mentioned the MAPP program as a potential career path for those interested in an animal welfare career. The program focuses on the same subjects that I am passionate about and provides an opportunity to gain experience and make connections through the externship.

Interests in and experience with animals:
Of course I love all animals, but most of my experience is with small companion animals. During my undergraduate career, I did a part-time internship at the small animal and large animal clinic at the veterinary school. I became a Teaching Assistant (TA) for the swine section of a farm animal course. As I mentioned earlier, I have volunteered at several animal shelters and an equine rescue. Some of the events I volunteered for included a low cost spay and neuter day and an open house at a veterinary clinic.

What are your outside interests?
During my down time, I like relaxing to Netflix or surfing the web. My family and friends (both human and furry) are extremely important to me, so I spend as much time with them as I can. I really enjoy travel and photography (especially nature and animals). I also love music, crafts and scrap-booking.

Number of pets? What?
Unfortunately, I don’t have any pets at the moment. I plan on getting a cat once I have settled into a job and a long term living arrangement. In the past, I’ve had two birds, several fish and a snail. My dog, Niki, was like my “little sis,” and still is one of the most important things in the world to me. She inspired me to pursue a career with animals because of the special bond we had.

Is there anything else you would like to share?
I have been a vegetarian for eight years.

MS in Animals and Public Policy Student Externship and Research Poster Presentations 2017

Back to MAPP Alumni page